The Verse
Theology and Culture
I Came for My Beloved
0:00
-3:28

I Came for My Beloved

A song inspired by the doctrine of limited atonement

Song lyrics below.

This blood poured out
On the forsaken tree
A satisfaction of the debt required
"Oh, My God,
Why have You forsaken Me?"
Pleas the Savior, pierced, bruised, and tired

"I came for my beloved
My beloved, she is mine
I will not leave without her
I will not change My mind"

Each sigh a seal of life
We could never earn
Each cry of pain, a labor of His love
The depth of sorrow weighing
Heavy on His heart
Would purchase heights of joy for His beloved

"I came for my beloved
My beloved, she is mine
I will not leave without her
I will not change My mind"

This blood is not empty
The Father does not waste
Each drop achieves all its holy aim
There is no discrepancy
Not one ounce misplaced
Of bitter wrath upon the Lamb who's slain

The Bridegroom paid in full
The price for His bride
He knew whom He would save, He cannot miss
He canceled all the debt
Of those for whom He died
Not one more, not one less

"I came for my beloved
My beloved, she is mine
I will not leave without her
I will not change My mind"

*These lyrics are included in my book, “What's in a Word.” You can find it on Amazon here:

Amazon


Subscribe for free or try 7 days of full access.

0 Comments
The Verse
Theology and Culture
In Psalm 137:4 the question is raised, "How can we sing the Lord's song in a foreign land?" We can relate. How do we live the Christian life in a secular world? This regular segment will cover issues of theology and culture.